Women’s Bike Month – Ashanti

2023.02.23 e assist (20 of 27)


Customer Support


Hi, my name is Ashanti and I am a Customer Support Rep. I started working for POGOH in November 2022. I am currently a junior at the University of Pittsburgh studying Psychology with a certificate in Nonprofit Management. I had done previous work for nonprofits and thought working for POGOH would be a really cool opportunity. I absolutely love coffee and cats <3
Q: What's your favorite thing about working at POGOH?
A: The people! I've never been a part of such a fun loving staff. Everyone has such care for what they are doing and everyone loves bikes!
Q: Who taught you how to ride a bike? Tell us about it! What do you remember about riding bikes as a kid? What did your bike look like?
A: My mom taught me how to ride a bike. I remember the first time I rode without training wheels I slipped on a pothole and came tumbling down. I still have the scar on my knees to show for it. But I loved riding around my neighborhood with my group of friends.
Q: Where's your favorite place to ride in Pittsburgh? It can be a route, a destination, a bike lane or road, whatever feels good!
A: Since I am a student I spend a lot of my time on Pitt's campus; most of the routes I'll bike are to and from there. My favorite (and coincidentally most biked) route is from Oakland over to the Southside. I love crossing over the bridge in the evening and watching the sunset.
Q: How do you describe riding a POGOH e-assist bike to someone who hasn't ridden an e-bike before?
A: Hmm it feels similar to gliding on water. There's a gentle helping hand pushing you up the steep hill in the city. Super smooth and easy!
Q: What's your favorite thing about biking in Pittsburgh?
A: I love how bike friendly the city is. It never feels too treacherous to bike anywhere.